Print
Research Policy & Development

ERA.NET RUS - Linking Russia to the ERA

Coordination of EU MS´/AC´ S&T programmes towards and with Russia

A broad consortium consisting of 18 partners implemented since February 2009 the EU-funded ERA Net project for Russia (ERA.Net RUS). Austrian participants in the project were the Centre for Social Innovation (ZSI) and the Federal Ministry of Science and Research (BMWF). The project had the following main goals:

A knowledge based DIALOGUE BETWEEN PROGRAMME OWNERS IN EU MEMBER STATES, ASSOCIATED COUNTRIES (TO THE EU FRAMEWORK PROGRAMME), AND RUSSIA was set-up in order to learn about each others objectives, priorities and instruments, and to identify good cooperation practice in terms of effectiveness and efficiency. This covered both bilateral S&T programmes of MS/AC, Russia, and unilateral activities of governmental and non-governmental programme owners in EU MS/AC and Russia.

Options for JOINT FUNDING ACTIVITIES OF PARTICULAR BENEFIT FOR PROGRAMME OWNERS IN EU MS/AC AND RUSSIA were identified and respective implementation scenarios developed. The emphasis was on enhancing and linking bilateral funding schemes of MS/AC and Russia. If appropriate, activities of additional programme owners were included as well. EU Programme owners from outside the project consortium were also addressed.

A PILOT JOINT CALL of interested programme owners in EU MS/AC and Russia from inside and outside the project consortium was implemented and an assessment of the effectiveness and efficiency of the joint funding scheme carried out.

Building on the experiences from the Pilot Joint Call and on a foresight exercise, a SUSTAINABLE S&T (AND/OR INNOVATION) PROGRAMME was  developed and agreed upon by interested programme owners from EU MS/AC and Russia from inside and outside the project consortium.

ZSI was especially involved in the analytical parts of the project. It was leader of work-package 1, which provided an analytical basis for coordinating EU Member States´/Associated Countries´ S&T and innovation programmes towards Russia or with Russian programme owners. ZSI had also a leading role in the work-package on developing, disseminating, and promoting a sustainable S&T or innovation programme with Russia, which will included a large foresight exercise.

Team:

Section: Research Policy & Development

Funding institutions and customers:

Partners:

Related Articles:

Tags: ERA-NETs, European Research Area, foresight, internationalisation, research cooperation, Russia

Type: Research

Program: 7th Framework Programme

Project Status: Finished

Start/End: 02/2009 - 01/2014

Project Duration: 60 months

Website: http://www.eranet-rus.eu

Print
Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

ERA.NET RUS

Koordinierung von bilateralen Forschungsprogrammen mit Russland

Ein Konsortium bestehend aus 18 Partnern nahm im Februar 2009 die Arbeit am EU-geförderten ERA Net Projekt für Russland (ERA.Net RUS) auf. Aus Österreich sind das Zentrum für Soziale Innovation (ZSI) und das Bundesministerium für Wissenschaft und Forschung (BMWF) an dem Projekt beteiligt.

Zielsetzungen des Projektes sind:

Ein DIALOG ZWISCHEN FORSCHUNGSFÖRDERUNGSORGANISATIONEN aus EU Mitgliedsstaaten und assoziierten Ländern (an das EU Rahmenprogramm) mit Russischen Partnerorganisationen wird etabliert. Der Dialog dient dazu, sich über die jeweiligen Ziele, Prioritäten und Förderinstrumente auszutauschen und Beispiele für gute und effiziente Kooperationspraxis herauszuarbeiten. Sowohl bilaterale als auch unilaterale Forschungsförderaktivitäten von EU und assoziierten Ländern mit Russland werden im Rahmen des Projektes analysiert.

OPTIONEN FÜR GEMEINSAME FORSCHUNGSFÖRDERAKTIVITÄTEN werden identifiziert und Szenarien für eine mögliche Umsetzung entwickelt. Ein Schwerpunkt wird hier auf die Koordinierung und Verknüpfung von bilateralen Forschungsförderprogrammen zwischen den involvierten Ländern gelegt, wobei auch Programme von Ländern, die nicht im Konsortium vertreten sind, berücksichtigt werden.

Eine GEMEINSAME PILOTAUSSCHREIBUNG ZUR FORSCHUNGSFÖRDERUNG wird durchgeführt. Die Ausschreibung wird von Förderorganisationen aus Ländern, die im Konsortium vertreten sind umgesetzt; sie steht aber auch Organisationen außerhalb des Konsortiums offen. Effizienz und Wirkung der Ausschreibung werden evaluiert.

Auf Basis der Ergebnisse der Pilotausschreibung und einer Foresight Studie wird ein NACHHALTIGES FORSCHUNGSFÖRDERUNGSPROGRAMM UND/ODER INNOVATIONSFÖRDERUNGSPROGRAMM ENTWICKELT und zur Umsetzung vorgeschlagen.

Das ZSI ist insbesondere in die analytischen Teile des Projektes involviert: es leitet das Arbeitspaket 1, das sich mit der Analyse von bestehenden Förderprogrammen zwischen den EU Mitgliedsländern und assoziierten Ländern (an das EU Rahmenprogramm) sowie Russland beschäftigt. Eine führende Rolle hat das ZSI auch im Arbeitspaket zur Entwicklung und Disseminierung eines nachhaltigen Forschungsförderungsprogrammes und/oder Innovationsförderprogrammes, wozu auch eine Foresight Studie durchgeführt wird.

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Bereich: Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

Förderer & Auftraggeber:

Partner:

Verwandte Artikel:

Tags: ERA-NETs, European Research Area, foresight, internationalisation, research cooperation, Russia

Typ: Forschung

Programm: 7th Framework Programme

Projekt Status: Abgeschlossen

Laufzeit: 60 Monate

Von/Bis: 02/2009 - 01/2014

Webseite: http://www.eranet-rus.eu