Print
Profile

Learn more about:

Legal basis: non-profit limited liability company

The Centre for Social Innovation (ZSI) is a scientific institute, founded as a not for profit association under Austrian law in 1988 and duly operationalised since 1990. On 1st of July 2014 the Centre for Social Innovation changed its legal basis to a not for profit ZSI GmbH (Limited Liability Company, LLC).The ZSI Association is retained and acts as the sole owner of the ZSI LLC since 1st of July 2014.
The Executive Board (EB) of the ZSI LLC is elected by the General Assembly of the ZSI Association for a three years term. ZSI follows the model of a self-governing institution.
Diversification of services and a broad spectrum of expertise guarantee the independence of the institute, its level of employment and the achievement of its purpose.
Since many years ZSI works in many projects commissioned or supported by the Austrian Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy.

Structure of ZSI

ZSI is organised along three departments

The executive board consists of:

Mission statement: "All Innovations are socially relevant"

ZSI conducts research on the social embedding and impact of all types of innovations, and contributes to the design and diffusion of socially accepted and sustainable innovations to meet social challenges.
By deployment of innovative research, education, advisory services and co-ordination of networks, we create new knowledge, reflect and configure existing knowledge, evaluate measures, develop concepts and forward their implementation.
As independent and globally acting scientific institution, we are engaged in the development of theories, methodologies, instruments and measures as well as in the dissemination of a systemically conceptualised broad innovation approach.

Definition of social innovation by ZSI

Social innovations are novel or more effective practices that prove capable to tackle societal issues and are adopted and successfully utilised by individuals, groups and organisations concerned. - For more information cf. 'Scientific comprehension and definition of social innovation'

Strategic principles

ZSI works in science and praxis, linking research systematically with application. Many ZSI-projects transcend scientific domains, and thus are interdisciplinary. Some also include collaboration with professionals and laymen from non-scientific realms. With this nexus between scientific and practical knowledge the criterion of trans-disciplinarity is fulfilled.

Ethical code

ZSI considers the European Charta for Researchers and the Code of Ethics of the International Sociological Association (ISA), as well as the RESPECT Code of Practice for Socio-Economic Research.

Facts at a glance (Update May 2015)

70 projects / 56 team members (34 female) / up to 7000 unique visitors per month on our website (awstats) / more than 1200 subscribers of ZSI eJournal / more than 1700 subscriptions on ZSI Facebook / arround 30 social media canals by current projects / additionally 1000s of visitors at our project related websites and more than several 10.000 subscribers of our project related eNewsletters
Please also visit the Press & ZSI Media area or check our ZSI News!

Print
Profil

Erfahren Sie mehr über:

Rechtsform: Gemeinnützige GmbH

Das Zentrum für Soziale Innovation (ZSI) ist ein wissenschaftliches Institut. Es wurde 1988 als Verein registriert und ist seit 1990 operationell aktiv. Am 1. Juli 2014 erfolgte die Umwandlung zur gemeinnützigen GmbH. Sie ist auf die Förderung sozialer Entwicklung ausgerichtet und von der österreichischen Finanzbehörde als gemeinnützig anerkannt. Der ZSI-Verein wurde erhalten und ist Eigentümer der gemeinnützigen ZSI GmbH.
Das Leistungsteam der ZSI GmbH wird von der Generalversammlung des ZSI-Vereins mit einer Laufzeit von 3 Jahren gewählt. Das ZSI folgt dem Modell einer selbstverwalteten Forschungseinrichtung. Diversifizierung von Leistungen sowie ein weites Spektrum von Tätigkeitsbereichen tragen zur Sicherung von Unabhängigkeit, Beschäftigung und Erreichung der Zwecke des ZSI bei.
Das ZSI bearbeitet seit vielen Jahren u.a. zahlreiche Projekte im Auftrag des österreichischen Bundesministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft bzw. wird von diesem unterstützt.

Strukturen des ZSI

Das ZSI gliedert sich in drei Bereiche:

Dem Leitungsteam obliegt die strategische Ausrichtung und operative Leitung des ZSI. Diese setzt sich wie folgt zusammen:

Mission Statement: "Alle Innovationen sind sozial relevant"

Das ZSI untersucht die gesellschaftliche Einbettung und Wirkung von Innovation und trägt zur Gestaltung und Verbreitung von sozialverträglichen und nachhaltigen Innovationen zur Bewältigung von gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen bei.
Durch den innovativen Einsatz von Forschung, Bildung, Beratung und Koordination von Netzwerken schaffen wir neues Wissen, reflektieren und konfigurieren bestehende Wissensbestände, evaluieren Maßnahmen, entwickeln Konzepte und befördern deren Umsetzung.
Als unabhängige und global agierende wissenschaftliche Einrichtung engagieren wir uns in der Theorieentwicklung, der Methodenentwicklung, der Instrumenten- und Maßnahmenentwicklung und in der Vermittlung eines systemisch verstandenen breiten Innovationsansatzes.

Definition sozialer Innovation am ZSI

Soziale Innovationen sind neue Konzepte und Maßnahmen, die von betroffenen gesellschaftlichen Gruppen angenommen und zur Lösung sozialer Herausforderungen genutzt werden. Lesen Sie mehr zur wissenschaftlichen Definition des ZSI von "Soziale Innovation".

Strategische Grundsätze

Das ZSI arbeitet in Wissenschaft und Praxis – verknüpft Forschung systematisch mit Anwendung. Zahlreiche ZSI-Projekte überschreiten nicht nur wissenschaftliche Fachgrenzen und sind damit interdisziplinär. Manche schließen auch Kooperation mit Gruppen außerhalb von Wissenschaft und Forschung ein. Durch die Verbindung von wissenschaftlichem und praktischem Wissen wird das Kriterium von Transdisziplinarität erfüllt.

Spenden

Das Zentrum für Soziale Innovation ist von der österreichischen Finanzbehörde als gemeinnützig anerkannt Es steht spendenwilligen Stiftungen, Unternehmen oder Einzelpersonen als kompetenter Partner für Zuwendungen für wissenschaftliche Vorhaben im Bereich seiner Satzung, insbesondere zur Erforschung und Beförderung sozialer Innovationen, zur Verfügung.

Ethik-Kodex

Das ZSI beachtet die Empfehlung der Europäischen Kommission in Bezug auf die Europäische Charta für ForscherInnen, ebenso den Code of Ethics der International Sociological Association (ISA), und den RESPECT Code of Practice for Socio-Economic Research.

Fakten auf einen Blick (Update Mai 2015)

70 Projekte / 56 Teammitglieder (davon 34 weibliche Mitarbeiterinnen) / bis zu 7000 Unique Visitors im Monat auf der ZSI Website (awstats) / über 1200 AbonnentInnen des ZSI eJournal / über 1700 AbonnentInnen von ZSI Facebook / rund 30 Kanäle auf Social Media Plattformen herausgegeben von laufenden ZSI Projekten / darüber hinaus 1000de BesucherInnen von Websites und mehrere 10.000 AbonnentInnen von eNewsletters, jeweils herausgegeben von laufenden ZSI Projekten
Bitte besuchen Sie auch den Bereich Press & ZSI Media oder die ZSI News!