Print
Research Policy & Development

F&E - Research Policy & Development

We research, network and advise.

The experts of the ZSI unit  Research Policy & Development (F&E) develop and realize projects on the interface between research and application.

The projects in our unit are characterized by innovative topics, methodological diversity and high quality of results.

The projects of F&E are based upon cooperation and networking with international partner organizations in the European Union, enlargement countries and third countries. Many of them are financed by the Framework Programmes of the European Union (FP6, FP7, Horizon 2020).

Key aspects of our activities are:

  • Coordination and realization of European initiatives in research and technology policy in the region of South East Europe (SEE) especially in the so-called Western Balkan region (reference projects: South-East European ERA-NET (PLUS), WBC-INCO.NET, Information Office of the Steering Platform of Research for Western Balkan Countries, Danube-INCO.NET)
  • Networking and dissemination of information to researchers and research policy makers in different regions (such as Latin America, Russia and Central Asia, South East Europe, Danube Region, South East Asia, Africa, Canada) with researchers in the European Union (reference projects: ALCUENET, BILAT Russia, BILAT Ukraine, BILAT Mexico, SEA-EU-NET, CAAST-NET PLUS, ERA-CAN+, INDIGO-Policy, INNO INDIGO etc.)
  • Coordination and participation in initiatives of the European Union in the region of SEE/Western Balkan with the focus on Information and Communication Technologies (reference projects: WINS-ICT, SCORE, IS2WEB, SEE-INNOVATION)
  • Coordination and implementation of Austrian initiatives in research and technology policy (reference projects: Austrian "Forschungsdialog", era.gv.at/)
  • Policy consulting in the area of Science-Technology-Innovation and Internationalization of R&D (reference projects: consulting for several Austrian ministries, World Bank, European Union, and other international organizations)
  • Evaluation and accompanying monitoring of projects and programmes for cooperation in research and education (reference projects: CEEPUS - Central European Exchange Program for University Studies, ADA - Austrian Development Agency, Programme Monitoring of CIR-CE, Evaluation of the US-Russian Basic Research and Higher Education Programme, Reform of Higher Education, Research and Innovation in Kosovo/UN Resolution 1244, etc.)
  • Analysis of Innovation systems and knowledge-based societies (EULAKS, EIS - European Innovation Scoreboard)

F&E is expanding its focus in regard to

  • Research in the field of technoglobalisation, analysis of conditions, potentials and barriers to international research cooperation
  • Transfer of know-how gained from the geographical region of South East Europe to other regions (Latin America, South East Asia, Russia and Central Asia, etc.)
  • Co-Publication-studies: Conducting of bibliometric analysis of international academic and scientific publications, in order to better understand the increasing internationalisation trends in science, technology and innovation. Further, the ZSI delivers interactive visualizations, based on the retrieved bibliometric data.
  • Foresight: Studies on possible developments in the future, which can be both used as networking- or policymaking tools. Assumptions on possible scenarios in science, technology and innovation, which are based on Foresight studies, allow to make better decisions already today.
  • further competencies and activities of the F&E department you find here.

 

Head of Department: M.A. Gorazd A. Weiss, MMag. Alexander Degelsegger

INCO project news

Print
Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

F&E - Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

Wir forschen, netzwerken und beraten

Die MitarbeiterInnen des Bereichs Forschungspolitik und Entwicklung (F&E) konzipieren und realisieren Projekte im Wechselspiel zwischen Forschung und Anwendung.

Die Projekte im Bereich zeichnen sich durch innovative Themenwahl, methodische Vielfalt und hohe Ergebnisqualität aus.

Die Projekte von F&E basieren auf Kooperationen und Netzwerken mit internationalen Partnerorganisationen in der EU, den Erweiterungsländern und Drittstaaten. Viele von ihnen sind finanziert durch die Rahmenprogramme der Europäischen Union (FP6, FP7, Horizon 2020).

Inhaltliche Schwerpunkte in F&E sind:

  • Koordination und Umsetzung von forschungs- und technologiepolitischen Initiativen der EU in der Region Südosteuropa/Westbalkan (Referenzprojekte: South-East European ERA-NET (PLUS), WBC-INCO.NET, Information Office of the Steering Platform of Research for Western Balkan Countries, Danube-INCO.NET)
  • Vernetzung des Europäischen Forschungsraumes mit Forschung und Innovation in Drittstatten und Regionen in der ganzen Welt (Lateinamerika, Russland und Zentralasien, Südosteuropa, Donauregion, Südostasien, Afrika, Kanada) mit ForscherInnen in der Europäischen Union (Referenzprojekte: ALCUENET, BILAT Russia, BILAT Ukraine, BILAT Mexico, SEA-EU-NET, CAAST-NET plus, ERA-CAN+, INDIGO-Policy, INNO INDIGO etc.)
  • Koordination und Umsetzung von forschungs- und technologiepolitischen Initiativen Österreichs (Referenzprojekt: era.gv.at, Forschungsdialog)
  • Beratung im Politikbereich STI (Science-Technology-Innovation) und Internationalisierung von F&E (Referenzprojekte: Beratung für diverse Ministerien, Weltbank, Europäische Union, andere internationale Organisationen)
  • Evaluierung und begleitendes Monitoring von Projekten und Programmen der Forschungsförderung und Bildungszusammenarbeit (Referenzprojekte: CEEPUS - Central European Exchange Program for University Studies, ADA - Austrian Development Agency, Programm-Monitoring von CIR-CE; Evaluation des US-Russian Basic Research and Higher Education Programme; Hochschulreform, Forschung und Innovation in Kosovo/UN Resolution 1244, etc.)
  • Untersuchung von Innovationssystemen und Wissensgesellschaften (Referenzprojekte: EULAKS, EIS - European Innovation Scoreboard)

F&E baut seine Schwerpunkte aus im Hinblick auf

  • Forschung im Bereich Technoglobalisierung und Analyse von Potentialen, Bedingungen und Hemmnissen internationaler Forschungszusammenarbeit
  • Übertragung des gewonnenen Wissens aus der geographischen Region Südosteuropas auf andere Regionen (Lateinamerika, Südostasien, Russland und Zentralasien, etc.)
  • Ko-Publikationsstudien: Durchführung bibliometrischer Analysen internationaler akademischer und generell wissenschaftlicher Publikationen zum besseren Verständnis der zunehmenden Internationalisierung von Wissenschaft, Technologie und Innovation. Darüber hinaus liefert das ZSI auf den Kunden zugeschnittene und interaktive Visualisierungen der erhobenenen Ko-Publikationsdaten.
  • Foresight: Studien zu möglichen Entwicklungsszenarien in der Zukunft, die sowohl als Networking- als auch als Policymaking-Tool gebraucht werden können. Die Vorannahme zukünftiger Szenarien in Wissenschaft, Technologie und Innovation erlaubt es, auch bessere Entscheidungen im Heute zu treffen.
  • weitere Kompetenzen und Leistungen von F&E finden Sie hier.

 

Leitung: M.A. Gorazd A. Weiss, MMag. Alexander Degelsegger

INCO project news