Print
Research Policy & Development

BILAT-UKR

Enhancing the Bilateral S&T Partnership with Ukraine

The BILAT-UKR project aimed at providing a smooth and flexible frame to foster cooperation in Science and Technology between the EU and one of its largest and closest Eastern neighbours: Ukraine. It is one of a series of such support projects supporting the EU-Ukraine cooperation in research and innovation.

Ukraine has a long-lasting tradition of scientific bilateral cooperation with some EU countries, for instance France, Germany, and Poland. Yet the S&T dialogue with EU itself is under construction. During the time of implementation of this project, Ukraine's association to the Framework Programme was not yet implemented, it was expected to enhance Ukrainian involvement in EU research, and to promote the necessary structural changes in the Ukrainian science & innovation sectors. Preparing the ground for Ukraine's association to FP7 was the major issue to be addressed in the frame of BILAT-UKR.

The major objectives of the project were:

  1. To strengthen the S&T cooperation between the EU and Ukraine in particular through a stronger participation of Ukraine in FP7 and other Community programmes and initiatives, and through a better link between activities on Member States and Community level. > This objective has been achieved by means of concrete initiatives for information and raising awareness of the science and innovation Community in Ukraine, as well as efficient and targeted advise for Ukrainian applicants for community programmes
  2. To further improve the framework for stimulating future joint sustainable activities of research teams of the European Member States, Associated States, and Ukraine, and to contribute to develop optimum instruments. > This objective has been achieved by: a) an inventory of existing instruments, regulations, obstacles, and best practices, both on bilateral (Member States and Ukraine) and Community level, with a particular emphasis on the needs for a legal frame, b) involving policy stakeholders from EU-Member States, EU-Commissions; and Ukraine to come-up with proposed solutions for a common frame, taking benefit of and suggesting recommendations for the implementation of the ENP action plan.
  3. To provide support for the working groups set up with aim to organize a thorough thematic and high-level policy dialogue between the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine and the European Commission. > The activities included two kinds of initiatives: a) contributing to the kick-off of the Working Groups, providing a knowledge base for decision shaping and supporting information dissemination of the activities, AND results and recommendations of the Working Groups. b) providing a knowledge base and develop an agenda for new bilateral EU-Ukraine Working Groups on three areas: Mobility, S&T infrastructure and Innovation, linking the international dimension of the Specific Programme People and Capacities to the respective Ukrainian instruments, facilities and strategies.

The results of the project are archived at http://archive.bilat-ukr.eu/en/124.php

The activities were continued in the frame of the ZSI coordinated projects BILAT UKR*AINA and RI-LINKS2UA.

Team:

Section: Research Policy & Development

Partners:

Tags: European Research Area, internationalisation, research cooperation, scientific networks, Ukraine

Type: Networks

Program: FP7 - Capacities - International Cooperation

Project Status: Finished

Project Duration: 42 months

Start/End: 09/2008 - 02/2012

Website: http://archive.bilat-ukr.eu/

Print
Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

BILAT-UKR

Stärkung der bilateralen F&E Partnerschaft mit der Ukraine

Ziel des BILAT-UKR-Projekts war es, einen reibungslosen und flexiblen Rahmen für die Förderung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen der EU und einem ihrer größten und nächsten östlichen Nachbarn - der Ukraine - in Wissenschaft und Technologie zu schaffen. Es gehört zu einer Reihe solcher Unterstützungsprojekte, die die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der EU und der Ukraine im Bereich Forschung und Innovation unterstützen und unterstützten.

Die Ukraine hat eine lange Tradition der wissenschaftlichen bilateralen Zusammenarbeit mit einigen EU-Ländern, beispielsweise Frankreich, Deutschland und Polen. Doch der F&E-Dialog mit der EU selbst befindet sich im Aufbau. Während der Laufzeit dieses Projekts wurde die ukrainische Assoziierung zum Rahmenprogramm vorbereitet. Es wurde erwartet, dass dadurch die ukrainische Beteiligung an der EU-Forschung verbessert und die notwendigen strukturellen Veränderungen in den ukrainischen Wissenschafts- und Innovationssektoren gefördert werden. Die Vorbereitung des Beitritts der Ukraine zum RP7 war das Hauptthema im Rahmen von BILAT-UKR.

Die Hauptziele des Projekts waren:

  1. Stärkung der wissenschaftlich-technischen Zusammenarbeit zwischen der EU und der Ukraine insbesondere durch eine stärkere Beteiligung der Ukraine am RP7 und an anderen Gemeinschaftsprogrammen und -initiativen sowie durch eine bessere Verknüpfung von Maßnahmen auf Ebene der Mitgliedstaaten und der Gemeinschaft > Dieses Ziel wurde durch konkrete Informations- und Sensibilisierungsinitiativen für die Gemeinschaft für Wissenschaft und Innovation in der Ukraine sowie durch effiziente und zielgerichtete Beratung ukrainischer Bewerber für die EU-Programme erreicht
  2. Den Rahmen für die Förderung künftiger gemeinsamer nachhaltiger Kooperationen von Forschungsteams der europäischen Mitgliedstaaten, assoziierten Staaten und der Ukraine weiter zu verbessern und zur Entwicklung optimaler Instrumente beizutragen > Dieses Ziel wurde erreicht durch: a) eine Bestandsaufnahme der bestehenden Instrumente, Vorschriften, Hindernisse und bewährten Verfahren sowohl auf bilateraler Ebene (Mitgliedstaaten und Ukraine) als auch auf Gemeinschaftsebene unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Erfordernisse eines rechtlichen Rahmens, b) Einbeziehung politischer Akteure aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten, EU-Kommission; und die Ukraine, um Vorschläge für einen gemeinsamen Rahmen zu unterbreiten und Empfehlungen für die Umsetzung des ENP-Aktionsplans zu nutzen und Empfehlungen zu unterbreiten.
  3. Unterstützung der Arbeitsgruppen, die mit dem Ziel gegründet wurden, einen umfassenden thematischen und hochrangigen politischen Dialog zwischen dem Ministerium für Bildung und Wissenschaft der Ukraine und der Europäischen Kommission zu organisieren > Die Aktivitäten umfassten: a) Beitrag zum Auftakt der Arbeitsgruppen, Bereitstellung einer Wissensbasis für die Entscheidungsfindung und Unterstützung der Informationsverbreitung der Aktivitäten, UND Ergebnisse und Empfehlungen der Arbeitsgruppen. b) Bereitstellung einer Wissensbasis und Entwicklung einer Agenda für neue bilaterale Arbeitsgruppen EU-Ukraine in drei Bereichen: Mobilität, F&E-Infrastruktur und Innovation, Verknüpfung der internationalen Dimension des spezifischen Programms "Menschen und Kapazitäten" mit den jeweiligen ukrainischen Instrumenten, Einrichtungen und Strategien.

Die Resultate des Projektes wurden archiviert unter http://archive.bilat-ukr.eu/en/124.php

Die Aktivitäten wurden im Rahmen der koordinierten ZSI-Projekte BILAT UKR*AINA und RI-LINKS2UA fortgesetzt.

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Bereich: Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

Partner:

Tags: European Research Area, internationalisation, research cooperation, scientific networks, Ukraine

Typ: Netzwerk

Programm: FP7 - Capacities - International Cooperation

Projekt Status: Abgeschlossen

Laufzeit: 42 Monate

Von/Bis: 09/2008 - 02/2012

Webseite: http://archive.bilat-ukr.eu/