Print
Work and Equal Opportunities

in.education

inclusion & education

Development of strategies to increase the enrolment of educationally disadvantaged people, especially those with basic education needs, into relevant educational programs

Existing data as well as practical experiences show that educational programs - including those that specifically address educationally disadvantaged people - are not utilised enough by "all potential" target groups and sufficient diversification of  participants groups is achieved only rarely. The reasons for this phenomenon are many and varied. They arise as a result of mixed organisational patterns, educational behaviour of individuals and are caused by structural, procedural and individual initial conditions, which have a common relevance to adult education. The often-mentioned structural change facing Europe in general and specifically each Member State, which particularly refers to its migration and diverse society, can only be dealt with by providing equal and suitable conditions for accessing educational opportunities to people, who because of their personal situation, for example due to lack of educational qualifications, have difficulties in accessing education . The responsibility of the provision of these fair and adequate conditions for the participation in education should also be borne by adult education providers. They must be empowered to develop solutions to reduce barriers and offer educational programs that address diversity to especially those people who may not yet have found a satisfactory entry route into education or for those who have “finished” with education; so that they can reopen the education window for them.
In.education focuses on the development of strategies to increase the enrolment of educationally disadvantaged people especially those with basic education needs into relevant educational programs. The project therefore develops strategies to reduce possible barriers by focussing on system, individual and institutional related levels.

Systemic level: Following the hypothesis that people are deeply influenced by their socio-economic environment, methods and strategies are developed that proactively raise awareness and motivate enrolment in education.  This will result in the activation and expansion of multipliers. Besides the identification of relevant target groups, application-oriented settings (pilot workshops) targeted towards stakeholder groups are developed. From this experience, in.education develops an application oriented curriculum. 
These activities are evaluated in this report.

  • The evaluation report on this project phase is available here.
  • A detailed descritption of the activities of this project phase is available here.
  • A short summary of the main lessons learned and recommendations of this project phase is available here.

Individual level: The hypothesis that that the enrolment rate in education increases when informally acquired educational qualifications are collected, described and recognised, leading to the admission of those concerned into the education system, emerges from a cycle of transnational cooperation in the collection and validation of informally gained  educational competences of  educationally disadvantaged people with basic education deficits. This is implemented by the provision of formal compulsory education measures in each partner country in order to validate whether shorter possibilities of accomplishment of compulsory education for adults can be yielded from this cooperation.

  • The evaluation report on this project phase is available here.
  • A detailed descritption of the activities of this project phase is available here.

Organisational level: Starting from the presumption that adult education institutions have not yet adjusted sufficiently to the challenges generated from a diverse society and based on the implementation experience of in.education specifically derived from the learning outcomes and the competence-based training events in the systemic and individual levels, implementation competences that organisations dealing with educationally disadvantaged individuals must have in order to increase enrolment and guarantee the quality of results for this groups of persons is extracted. From these defined implementation competences, training are designed in which educational managers and trainers can participate.

  • The report of the study conducted by ZSI in this project phase is available here.

As a consequence, three curricula for three target groups (new multipliers, educational disadvantaged people, and educational managers and trainers) are developed and tested. The products are user-oriented, prepared to be self-explanatory and include information on the process, content, methods used and allow a glance into the used materials.

ZSI is mainly responsible for the scientific accompaniment and evaluation of the different elements of the project.

 

Team:

Section: Work and Equal Opportunities

Partners:

Downloads:

Related Articles:

Tags: education, inclusion, lifelong learning

Type: Research

Program: Erasmus+

Submission Date: 04/2014

Project Status: Finished

Project Duration: 24 months

Start/End: 10/2014 - 09/2016

Print
Arbeit & Chancengleichheit

in.education

inclusion & education

Entwicklung von Strategien zur Erhöhung der Bildungsbeteiligung von bildungsbenachteiligten Menschen mit Basisbildungsproblemen

Die vorhandene Datenlage wie auch Praxiserfahrungen zeigen, dass Bildungsangebote – auch solche, die sich speziell an bildungsferne Menschen wenden – nicht ausreichend von „allen potenziellen“ Zielgruppen in Anspruch genommen werden und nur selten eine ausreichende Streuung in den TeilnehmerInnengruppen erreicht wird. Die Gründe hierfür sind vielfältig. Sie ergeben sich aus einem Mix von organisationalen Mustern und dem Bildungsverhalten einzelner Menschen selbst und finden ihre Ursachen in strukturellen, prozessualen wie individuellen Ausgangsbedingungen, die eine gemeinsame Relevanz für das System der Erwachsenenbildung haben. Der vielfach angesprochene Strukturwandel, in dem sich Europa, also auch jedes einzelne Mitgliedsland, befindet, die Tatsache, längst schon in einer Migrations- und Diversitätsgesellschaft angekommen zu sein, können nur bewältigt werden, indem Partizipationsbedingungen auch für jene Menschen ausverhandelt werden, die aufgrund individueller Bedingungen nur schwer einen Zugang zu Bildungswegen wie erfolgreichen Bildungsabschlüssen und somit zu gleichwürdigen Teilhabevoraussetzungen finden. Solche aber zu sichern bzw. sich verstärkt mit adäquaten Beteiligungsbedingungen zu befassen, muss auch zentrale Aufgabe der Erwachsenenbildung sein. Sie muss befähigt werden, Lösungen zum Abbau von Barrieren zu entwickeln und Bildungsangebote anbieten, die diversitätsorientiert sich auch an jene wenden, die u.U. bislang keinen für sie befriedigenden Zugang zu Bildung gefunden oder die für sich das Thema Bildung bereits abgeschlossen haben, um für sie das Bildungsfenster (wieder) zu öffnen.

in.education befasst sich mit Entwicklung von Strategien, die das Ziel haben, die Bildungsbeteiligung von bildungsbenachteiligten Menschen mit Basisbildungsproblemen zu erhöhen. Dabei werden Strategien entwickelt, die gleichmäßig auf systembezogener, individueller und institutionaler Ebene ansetzen, um alle etwaigen Barriereeinheiten zu berücksichtigen.

Systemische Ebene: Ausgehend von der These, wonach Menschen nachhaltig geprägt werden von ihrem sozioökonomischen Umfeld, werden Methoden und Strategien entwickelt, welche proaktiv lebensweltlich relevante Umfelder in Hinblick auf Bildungsbeteiligung - gleichsam als Schnittstelle und VermittlerInnen - sensibilisieren und motivieren. Dadurch kommt es zu einer Erweiterung des MultiplikatorInnenfeldes und zu einer Aktivierung desselben. Neben der Identifikation relevanter zielgruppenpersonennaher Stakeholder werden in der Folge anwendungsorientierte Settings (Workshops) entwickelt, die mit den identifizierten Zielpersonen erprobt werden. Aus den Durchführungswerten entwickelt in.education ein anwendungsorientiertes Curriculum.

  • Der Evaluierungsbericht zu dieser Projektphase ist hier zu finden.
  • Eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Aktivitäten in dieser Projektphase finden Sie hier.
  • Eine Zusammenfassung der Erfahrungen und Empfehlungen dieser Projektphase finden Sie hier.

Individuelle Ebene: Ausgehend von der These, wonach vermutet wird, dass sich eine Bildungsbeteiligung erhöht, wenn informell erworbene Bildungskompetenzen erhoben, beschrieben und anerkannt worden sind und sie an etwaige Anschlusssysteme gebunden werden, entsteht im Zyklus der transnationalen Zusammenarbeit ein aufeinander abgestimmtes Konzept zur Erhebung und Validierung informeller Kompetenzen bei bildungsbenachteiligten Menschen  mit Basisbildungsdefiziten.  Diese werden in Beziehung gesetzt zu den Anforderungen des formalen Pflichtschulabschlusses in den einzelnen Partnerländern, um in der Folge auch überprüfen zu können, ob sich aus diesem Zusammenspiel gegebenenfalls verkürzte Möglichkeiten zur Absolvierung des Pflichtschulabschlusses für Erwachsene ergeben würden.  

  • Der Evaluierungsbericht zu dieser Projektphase ist hier zu finden.
  • Eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Aktivitäten in dieser Projektphase finden Sie hier.

Organisationale Ebene: Ausgehend von der These, dass Erwachsenenbildungseinrichtungen sich noch nicht in einem ausreichenden Maße auf die Herausforderungen, die sich durch eine Gesellschaft in Vielfalt ergibt, eingestellt haben, werden ausgehend von den Durchführungserfahrungen von in.education, die in den lernergebnis- und kompetenzorientierten Bildungsveranstaltungen auf systemischer und individueller Ebene gemacht wurden,  Ableitungen getroffen, welche organisationalen Durchführungskompetenzen Einrichtungen, die mit bildungsbenachteiligten Menschen befasst sind, treffen müssen, um eine erfolgreiche Teilnahme- und Ergebnisqualität für diese Personengruppe gewährleisten zu können. Aus diesen nun definierten Durchführungskompetenzen wird ein Training konzipiert, an dem BildungsmanagerInnen und TrainerInnen teilnehmen (Output: Trainingscurriculum für MitarbeiterInnen der Erwachsenenbildung auf der Grundlage von Bedingungen für eine erfolgreiche Teilnahme bildungsbenachteiligter Menschen).

  • Der Evaluierungsbericht zu dieser Projektphase ist hier zu finden.

Demnach werden drei Curricula für die drei Zielgruppen des Projekts entwickelt und erprobt. Die Produkte sind anwendungsorientiert und selbsterklärend aufbereitet und beinhalten Angaben zum Prozess, zu Inhalten, zur Methodik und geben einen Einblick in den verwendeten Materialien.

Das ZSI ist im Rahmen des Projekts für die wissenschaftliche Begleitung und die Evaluierung zuständig. 

 

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Bereich: Arbeit & Chancengleichheit

Partner:

Downloads:

Verwandte Artikel:

Tags: education, inclusion, lifelong learning

Typ: Forschung

Programm: Erasmus+

Einreichdatum: 04/2014

Projekt Status: Abgeschlossen

Laufzeit: 24 Monate

Von/Bis: 10/2014 - 09/2016