Print
Research Policy & Development

IS2WEB

Extending Information Society Networks to the Western Balkan Region

Supporting ICT research in the Western Balkans

The present situation in the Western Balkans when the IS2WEB project started was characterised by the fact that, for the first time, organisations from these countries were able to participate in EC-funded research projects through a number of financially supported possibilities. However, in order to make use of these possibilities, the research communities of the region first had to become aware of the new opportunities, and then to be advised on how to take part actively. At that time, research communities in the region were not sufficiently aware of the opportunities offered by the IST-RTD (Research, Technology, Development) programme and often lack the necessary know-how on how to participate actively.

Experience has shown that providing a large number of people with information of FP’s possibilities is not that successful. With respect to the findings of the IDEAL-IST survey on “How research project co-ordinators choose partners for IST proposals“ (approximately 75% are known from previous collaborations, or are introduced by other consortium members), it was important to define those with high potential to become partners in EU IST projects, and act as “door opener” for other organisations/research institutions from their country.

Consequently, IS2WEB concentrated on focused training/mentoring of a limited number of promising organisations/research institutions which were identified in a first step through a thorough mapping of Western Balkan research organisations operating in the IST area. Complementing activities to facilitate networking allowed these organisations to exchange ideas, and pursue joint research collaboration with EU counterparts.

Impact: Following the implementation of the IS2WEB project and its sister project SEE-INNOVATION some further projects continued to support the South Eastern European research systems for more information read here about the ZSI regional competences in South East Europe.

Team:

Section: Research Policy & Development

Partners:

Related Articles:

Tags: Balkan

Type: Networks

Program: 6th Framework Programme, IST Priority

Project Status: Finished

Submission Date: 09/2004

Project Duration: 30 months

Start/End: 05/2005 - 10/2007

Website: http://www.is2web.org

Print
Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

IS2WEB

Ausbau von Netzwerke im Bereich der Informationsgesellschaft im westlichen Balkan

Unterstützung der IKT-Forschung im Westbalkan

Die Situation in den westlichen Balkanstaaten beim Start des IS2WEB-Projekts war dadurch gekennzeichnet, dass Organisationen aus diesen Ländern zum ersten Mal an EU-finanzierten Forschungsprojekten teilnehmen konnten. Um diese Möglichkeiten nutzen zu können, mussten sich die Forschungsgemeinschaften der Region zunächst der neuen Möglichkeiten bewusst werden und dann beraten werden, wie sie sich aktiv beteiligen können. Zu dieser Zeit waren die Forschungsgemeinschaften in der Region nicht ausreichend über die Möglichkeiten informiert, die das IST-FTE-Programm (Forschung, Technologie, Entwicklung) bot, und oft fehlt das notwendige Know-how, um sich aktiv zu beteiligen.

Die Erfahrung hat gezeigt, dass es nicht so erfolgreich ist, eine große Anzahl von Menschen über die Möglichkeiten von FP zu informieren. In Bezug auf die Ergebnisse der IDEAL-IST-Umfrage zu "Wie Forschungskoordinatoren Partner für IST-Vorschläge auswählen" (etwa 75% sind aus früheren Kooperationen bekannt oder werden von anderen Mitgliedern des Konsortiums eingeführt), war es wichtig, jene Organisationen mit einem hohen Potenzial zu identifizieren, Partner in EU-IST-Projekten zu werden und als "Türöffner" für andere Organisationen / Forschungseinrichtungen ihres Landes zu fungieren.

Folglich konzentrierte sich IS2WEB auf die gezielte Ausbildung / Betreuung einer begrenzten Anzahl vielversprechender Organisationen / Forschungseinrichtungen, die in einem ersten Schritt durch ein gründliches Mapping der im IST-Gebiet tätigen Forschungsorganisationen im Westbalkan identifiziert wurden. Diese Organisationen wurden vernetzt, tauschten Ideen aus und verfolgten gemeinsame Forschungszusammenarbeiten mit EU-Partnern.

Impact: Nach der Umsetzung des IS2WEB-Projekts und seines Schwesterprojekts SEE-INNOVATION wurden weitere Projekte zur Unterstützung der südosteuropäischen Forschungssysteme durchgeführt. Weitere Informationen zu den regionalen Kompetenzen des ZSI in Südosteuropa finden Sie hier.

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Bereich: Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

Partner:

Verwandte Artikel:

Tags: Balkan

Typ: Netzwerk

Programm: 6th Framework Programme, IST Priority

Einreichdatum: 09/2004

Projekt Status: Abgeschlossen

Von/Bis: 05/2005 - 10/2007

Laufzeit: 30 Monate

Webseite: http://www.is2web.org