Print
Research Policy & Development

EULARINET

European Union-Latin American Research and Innovation NETworks

INCO-NET project for the cooperation with Latin America

The INCO-NET EULARINET was a Coordination Action aimed at strengthening the bi-regional dialogue on S&T (Science & Technology) between the EU Member States, Associates States, and Latin American and Carribean Partner Countries (LAC) at the policy, programme, and institutional levels.

EULARINET had the following objectives:

  • to promote the joint identification, setting-up, implementation, and monitoring of mutual interest priorities of future work programmes across the Specific Programmes of FP7
  • to jointly define S&T co-operation policies
  • to support and stimulate the participation of Latin American Partner Countries in FP7

EULARINET established a co-ordination platform bringing together the key EU and LA policy makers and programme managers, as well as representatives of research entities, universities and the private sector, and eminent researchers and representatives of the civil society, to set up dialogue fora at different levels, leading to the identification of S&T policies and priorities and defining specific activities to promote, support and stimulate participation of LA researchers in FP7, and to strengthen international S&T cooperation. These activities have been aimed at strengthening the EU-LAC Knowledge Area.

As a political background, EULARINET has considered and developed the ongoing EU-LAC dialogue on S&T since the Río Summit in June 1999, the ALCUE's Brasilia Action Plan for S&T Co-operation, the Guadalajara Declaration to set up the EU – LAC Knowledge Area, the Vienna Summit in 2006, and the conclusions of the preparatory Senior Officials meeting in Salzburg, as a basis to go further in the practical implementation and updating of the existent policy guidelines.

The focus of the scientific activities of the ZSI in the course of the EULARINET was in the execution of a benchmarking-analysis of key Latin American S&T institutions.

Team:

Section: Research Policy & Development

Partners:

Downloads:

Related Articles:

Tags: European Research Area, internationalisation, Latin America, research cooperation, scientific networks

Type: Networks

Program: FP7-Capacities (International Co-operation)

Project Status: Finished

Start/End: 03/2008 - 12/2012

Project Duration: 58 months

Website: http://www.eularinet.eu/

Print
Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

EULARINET

European Union-Latin American Research and Innovation NETworks

INCO-NET zur Forschungskooperation zwischen der EU und Lateinamerika

Das INCO-NET EULARINET war eine sogenannte "Co-ordination Action" die das Hauptziel verfolgte, den bi-regionalen Dialog im Bereich Wissenschaft und Technik (S&T) zwischen den EU Mitgliedsstaaten, assoziierten Staaten und den lateinamerikanischen Partnerländern auf politischer, institutioneller, und Programmebene zu stärken.

EULARINET verfolgte folgende Ziele:

  • Gemeinsam beidseitige Interessensprioritäten für zukünftige Arbeitsprogramme quer durch die spezifischen Programme des FP7 zu identifizieren, erarbeiten, implementieren und zu monitoren.
  • Gemeinsame S&T Kooperationsstrategien zu definieren.
  • Die Beteiligung von lateinamerikanischen Partnern in FP7 zu fördern uns zu stimulieren.

EULARINET etablierte eine Koordinationsplattform um die zentralen Entscheidungsträger und Programmmanager, sowie RepräsentantInnen von Forschungseinrichtungen, Universitäten und dem Privatsektor, und bedeutende ForscherInnen und VerterterInnen der Zivilgesellschaft zusammenzubringen. Gemeinsam führten diese AkteurInnen einen Dialog um S&T Prioritäten und Strategien zu identifizieren. Mit spezifischen Aktivitäten wurde die Beteiligung von lateinamerikanischen ForscherInnen in FP7 stimuliert und damit die internationale S&T Kooperation weiter gestärkt. Diese Aktivitäten trugen dazu bei die „EU-LAC "Knowledge Area”" auszubauen.

Als politischen Hintergrund wurde in EULARINET der bestehende S&T Dialog zwischen der EU und Lateinamerika berücksichtigt und weiterentwickelt. Als Basis für eine tiefer gehendere praktische Umsetzung der Ziele und Strategien dienten die Ergebnisse des Río Gipfels im Juni 1999, des „ALCUE´s Brasilia Action Plan“ für S&T Kooperation, die Guadalajara Deklaration zur Einrichtung der “EU-LAC Knowledge Area” und schließlich die Ergebnisse des EU-Lateinamerika Gipfels in Wien im Jahr 2006.

Der Fokus und die wissenschaftlichen Aktivitäten des ZSI im Zuge des EULARINET lagen in der Ausführung einer Benchmarking Studie von lateinamerikanischen Schlüsselinstitutionen im Bereich S&T.

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Bereich: Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

Partner:

Downloads:

Verwandte Artikel:

Tags: European Research Area, internationalisation, Latin America, research cooperation, scientific networks

Typ: Netzwerk

Programm: FP7-Capacities (International Co-operation)

Projekt Status: Abgeschlossen

Von/Bis: 03/2008 - 12/2012

Laufzeit: 58 Monate

Webseite: http://www.eularinet.eu/