Cooperation Partners

National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Armenia (Armenia)


Acronym: NAS RA

The National Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Armenia (NAS RA) was founded in 1943 and is the highest state scientific self-governing organization in the country which unites NAS Members and scientific staff of affiliated scientific and research institutions to carry out basic and applied research in different scientific fields and coordinate research throughout the country. NAS RA is the official scientific consultant to the government and other highest governing bodies of Armenia. As the main state scientific organization NAS RA unifies the scientific and research institutes, subsidiary services and governing body - the Presidium of the Academy, with around 35 research institutes, centers and other support facilities. The Academy has a staff of over 3700 researchers, including 87 academicians, 18 corresponding members, 323 doctors of sciences, 1006 candidates of sciences.The Presidium of NAS RA has five scientific divisions on particular areas of science, as follows: Division of Mathematical and Technical Sciences, Division of Physics and Astrophysics, Division of Natural Sciences, Division of Chemistry and Earth Sciences, Division of Armenology and Social Sciences. NAS RA maintains wide international cooperation within the framework of cooperation agreements with academies and research organizations of around 10 countries. The NAS RA is a member of several international scientific unions including the Council of the Academy of Sciences of BSEC member States. NAS RA is involved as a partner in FP7 BS-ERA NET project on Networking on Science and Technology in the Black Sea Region to be launched starting from January 1, 2009.