Print
Research Policy & Development

Evaluation "Higher Education in BiH" + "Quality Assurance in BiH's Higher Education"

Evaluation of projects in Bosnia and Herzegovina

The evaluation assessed two projects:

a) The three and a half year project “Austrian Support to Bosnian and Herzegovinian Higher Education 2008-2011” (HE in BiH). This project focused on providing support to the development of higher education, connecting higher education and the labour market, and thus supporting long-term perspectives for employment and employability of university graduates.

b) The two and a half year project “Strategic and Structural Development of Quality Assurance in Bosnian and Herzegovinian Higher Education (Phase II)” (QA in BiH). This project focused on strengthening the development of quality assurance (QA) in Bosnian and Herzegovinian (BiH) higher education (HE). The project represented a follow-up action to previously established QA structures at BiH universities and supported the QA Agency in BiH which had been set up.

ZSI was contracted to:

  • measure the relevance of the activities relative to the target groups, recipients, and donors to make the impact of the project activities measurable in relation to the information provided in the Logical Framework Matrix (LFM)
  • evaluate the project´s effectiveness (input/output analysis) as well as assessing the attainment of the project goals
  • measure the efficiency of the undertaken activities. Special attention was directed on the resource aspect, whether or not these were spent in the most cost efficient way in order to achieve the desired outputs and expected results
  • assess the project´s impact in terms of contributing to the higher level development objective (i.e. the overall objective) and the impact of effects of the development intervention in proportion to the overall situation of the target group or those affected (incl. unwanted effects)
  • assess whether the benefits of the undertaken activities were likely to continue after the donor funding has been withdrawn (sustainability)

The main output was a final end-term (terminal) evaluation report, that was structured according to the “DAC (Development Assistance Committee by the OECD) criteria for Evaluating Development Assistance” formulated by the OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development). The terminal evaluation was aimed at ensuring the accountability of the implementation and of the future development of the two projects. The evaluation enabled WUS (World University Service) Austria and its donor(s) to critically reflect with an external independent view the past undertakings within the project, to support the improvement of further undertakings.

Team:

Section: Research Policy & Development

No partners added yet

Related Articles:

Tags: evaluation, Southeast Europe

Type: Research

Program: OEZA

Project Status: Finished

Project Duration: 5 months

Start/End: 11/2010 - 03/2011

Print
Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

Evaluation "Hochschulbildung in BiH" + "Qualitätssicherung in der BiH-Hochschulbildung"

Evaluierung von Projekten in Bosnien und Herzegowina

Die Evaluierung bewertete zwei Projekte:

a) Das dreieinhalbjährige Projekt "Austrian Support to Bosnian and Herzegovinian HigherEducation 2008-2011". Dieses Projekt konzentrierte sich auf die Unterstützung der Entwicklung der Hochschulbildung, die Verbindung von Hochschulbildung und Arbeitsmarkt und unterstützte damit langfristige Perspektiven für Beschäftigung und Beschäftigungsfähigkeit von Hochschulabsolventen.

b) Das zweieinhalbjährige Projekt "Strategic and Structural Development of Quality Assurance in Bosnian and Herzegovinian Higher Education (Phase II)" (QA in BiH). Dieses Projekt konzentrierte sich auf die Stärkung der Entwicklung der Qualitätssicherung in der Hochschulbildung (HE) Bosnien und Herzegowina's (BiH). Das Projekt stellte eine Folgeaktion zu bereits etablierten QS-Strukturen an BiH-Universitäten dar und unterstützte die eingerichtete QA-Agentur in BiH.

ZSI wurde beauftragt mit:

  • Messung der Relevanz der Aktivitäten im Verhältnis zu den Zielgruppen, Empfängern und Spendern, um die Wirkung der Projektaktivitäten in Bezug auf die in der Logischen Rahmenmatrix (LFM) bereitgestellten Informationen messbar zu machen
  • Bewertung der Wirksamkeit des Projekts (Input / Output-Analyse) sowie Bewertung der Erreichung der Projektziele
  • Messung der Effizienz der durchgeführten Aktivitäten. Besonderes Augenmerk wurde auf den Aspekt der Ressourcen gerichtet, ob diese auf die kosteneffizienteste Weise ausgegeben wurden oder nicht, um die gewünschten Ergebnisse und erwarteten Ergebnisse zu erzielen
  • Beurteilung der Auswirkungen des Projekts im Hinblick auf den Beitrag zum übergeordneten Entwicklungsziel (d. h. das Gesamtziel) und die Auswirkungen der Auswirkungen der Entwicklungsmaßnahme im Verhältnis zur Gesamtsituation der Zielgruppe oder der Betroffenen (einschließlich unerwünschter Effekte)
  • Beurteilung, ob der Nutzen der unternommenen Aktivitäten nach Aussetzung der Geberfinanzierung wahrscheinlich anhalten würde (Nachhaltigkeit)

Das wichtigste Ergebnis war ein abschließender Endbericht, der nach den von der OECD (Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung) formulierten Kriterien des DAC (Development Assistance Committee) zur Evaluierung der Entwicklungshilfe strukturiert wurde. Die Evaluierung ermöglichte es dem WUS Austria und seinen Gebern, die vergangenen Projekte kritisch zu reflektieren, um die Verbesserung weiterer Aktivitäten zu unterstützen.

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Bereich: Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

Noch keine Partner eingetragen

Verwandte Artikel:

Tags: evaluation, Southeast Europe

Typ: Forschung

Programm: OEZA

Projekt Status: Abgeschlossen

Laufzeit: 5 Monate

Von/Bis: 11/2010 - 03/2011