National University Corporation Kobe Univ. (Japan)

Japanese university established in 1902

Akronym: Kobe University

Kobe University's inception can be traced back to March 1902 with the establishment of Kobe Higher Commercial School. In April 1929, the School was renamed Kobe University of Commerce, and in October 1944, it became Kobe University of Economics.

In May 1949, Kobe University of Economics, College Preparatory Course of Kobe University of Economics, College of Business Administration attached to the Kobe University of Economics, Himeji High School, Kobe Technical College, Hyogo Normal School and Hyogo Junior Normal School were brought together to form Kobe University. In the initial stage, Kobe University began with six faculties. Since then, new faculties and graduate schools were added, as well as reorganized for the enhancement of its academic environment.

In October 1992, the Division of Liberal Arts and the Faculty of Education were reformed, resulting in the creation of the Faculty of Intercultural Studies, the Faculty of Human Development, and the Research Institute for Higher Education. At the same time, the Graduate School of International Cooperation Studies was newly established.

In October 2003, Kobe University of Mercantile Marine (KUMM) was integrated into Kobe University. In April 2004, Kobe University was incorporated in accordance with the Japanese government's National University Corporation Bill. Today, each faculty has its own graduate program, which promotes a better academic environment for students and researchers.


1-1 Rokkodai-cho Nada-ku
657-8501 Kobe-city


Leider ist dieser Inhalt in der ausgewählten Sprache nicht verfügbar.