Print
Research Policy & Development

Output-oriented evaluation of publicly funded RTI programs: possibilities and limitations

Evaluation impact measurement of research / technology / innovation programmes

In Europe and Austria, RTI policy has become increasingly important in recent years as it is seen as a tool to directly increase competitiveness, economic growth and employment and, ultimately, overall "quality of life". Public investment in research, technology and innovation through RTI programs, infrastructure measures and tax incentives for R&D activities in enterprises have been greatly expanded over the last decade. Along with an increase in political interest in the thematic field, not least due to the European Lisbon Strategy and the Barcelona Goals, there has also been a need for impact measurements to provide legitimation and empirical basis for future RTI policy decisions.

With regard to the nature of the evaluations carried out, however, it should be noted that the overwhelming majority of evaluations have a supportive, formative character. The evaluations are usually carried out during the funding process as an intermediate evaluation and are intended to support the project management and the program support, as well as to adapt and check the effects and objectives of the programs. Impact evaluations aiming to capture the effects of a support intervention are scarce.

In contrast, the nature of the demand for evaluations, however, is increasingly coming in the direction of output-outcome-impact evaluation, not least under the impact of New Public Management (see Polt 2009). Also due to the existing RTD directive, which states, among other things, that appropriate indicators must be defined to verify the achievement of the support objectives and to establish appropriate monitoring for the purpose of gathering the required information, an increased need for output-oriented evaluation can be expected.

The existing demand trend has greatly increased the methodological requirements for evaluation (Polt 2009). However, because the mechanisms of action of research and innovation are complex, methods that can be used to assess the scientific, technological and economic benefits involve a great deal of work. In order to obtain an appropriate cost / benefit ratio of FTI intervention and evaluation, it is therefore necessary to reconcile the methodological possibilities of evaluation projects with the expectations of the policy.

The aim of this project was to provide a current and realistic picture of the international evaluation situation in terms of methodology in order to give a picture of the possibilities and limitations of output-oriented impact analysis.

The study

  • presented adequate evaluation methods that provide a good basis for argumentative support of research policy decisions and allow for an economic, social and human resource-related impact;
  • contributed to the development of realistic expectations regarding evaluation issues and projects.

Team:

Section: Research Policy & Development

Funding institutions and customers:

Partners:

Related Articles:

Tags: evaluation, impact, innovation, research policy

Type: Research

Project Status: Finished

Submission Date: 11/2010

Start/End: 03/2011 - 11/2011

Project Duration: 9 months

Print
Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

Output-orientierte Evaluierung öffentlich geförderter FTI-Programme: Möglichkeiten und Grenzen

Evaluierung Wirkungsmessung von Forschung/Technologie/Innovations-Programmen

In Europa und in Österreich hat die FTI-Politik in den letzten Jahren zusehends an Bedeutung gewonnen, da sie als Instrument zur direkten Steigerung von Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, Wirtschaftswachstum und Beschäftigung und letztlich auch allgemeiner „Lebensqualität“ angesehen wird. Die öffentlichen Investitionen in Forschung, Technologie und Innovation über FTI-Programme, Infrastrukturmaßnahmen und steuerliche Anreize für F&E Aktivitäten in Unternehmen wurden in der letzten Dekade umfangreich ausgeweitet. Einhergehend mit einer Zunahme des politischen Interesses am Themenfeld, das nicht zuletzt durch die Europäische Lissabon Strategie und die Barcelona Ziele bedingt wurde, stieg auch der Bedarf an Wirkungsmessungen, die Legitimation und empirische Basis für zukünftige FTI-politische Entscheidungen bilden sollen.

In Bezug auf die Art der durchgeführten Evaluationen ist jedoch festzustellen, dass die überwältigende Mehrheit der Evaluationen einen unterstützend, formativen Charakter aufweist. Die Evaluationen erfolgen meist während der Förderabwicklung als Zwischenevaluation und sollen das Projektmanagement und den Programmträger unterstützen, sowie Wirkungsweisen und Zielvorgaben der Programme anpassen und überprüfen. Wirkungsevaluationen die darauf abzielen, die erzielten Effekte einer Förderintervention zu erfassen, sind rar.

Dem gegenüber geht die Art der Nachfrage nach Evaluationen jedoch – nicht zuletzt unter dem Eindruck des New Public Management immer stärker auch in Richtung ergebnisorientierter (output-outcome-impact) Evaluation (vgl. Polt 2009). Auch aufgrund der bestehenden FTE Richtlinie, die unter anderem besagt, dass geeignete Indikatoren zur Überprüfung der Erreichung der Förderziele definiert werden müssen und zum Zweck der Erfassung der erforderlichen Informationen ein entsprechendes Monitoring aufzubauen, ist mit einem erhöhten Bedarf an output-orientierter Evaluation zu rechnen.

Der bestehende Nachfragetrend hat die methodischen Anforderungen an Evaluation stark erhöht (Polt 2009). Da die Wirkungsmechanismen von Forschung und Innovation jedoch komplex sind, sind auch  Methoden, die zur Bewertung des wissenschaftlich, technologischen und wirtschaftlichen Nutzens herangezogen werden können, mit einem starken Arbeitsaufwand verbunden. Um eine angemessene Kosten-/Nutzen-Relation von FTI-Intervention und Evaluation zu erhalten, ist es daher nötig die methodischen Möglichkeiten von Evaluationsvorhaben mit den Erwartungshaltungen der Politik in Einklang zu bringen.

Die Zielsetzung dieses Projektes bestand darin, ein aktuelles und realistisches Bild der internationalen Evaluierungssituation in methodischer Hinsicht zu geben, um im Ergebnis ein Bild über Möglichkeiten und Grenzen output-orientierter Wirkungsanalyse zu geben.

Die Studie

  • stellte adäquate Evaluationsmethoden vor, die eine gute Basis für eine argumentative Unterstützung von forschungspolitischen Entscheidungen ermöglichen und es erlauben eine ökonomische, soziale und humanressourcenbezogene Wirkung festzustellen;
  • leistete einen Beitrag zur Entwicklung von realistischen Erwartungen in Bezug auf evaluatorische Fragestellungen und Vorhaben.

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Bereich: Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

Förderer & Auftraggeber:

Partner:

Verwandte Artikel:

Tags: evaluation, impact, innovation, research policy

Typ: Forschung

Einreichdatum: 11/2010

Projekt Status: Abgeschlossen

Laufzeit: 9 Monate

Von/Bis: 03/2011 - 11/2011