Print
Research Policy & Development

Indicators to measure internationalisation in science and research

Analysis and evaluation of internationalisation indicators

The project identified, collected, analysed and assessed indicators to represent and measure internationalisation in science and technology. For this purpose, an international workshop was organised and a critically commented indicator catalogue was published in which indicators were comparatively described and assessed (area of application, interpretation, limitations, data requirements and examples).

Background and motivation for the project was the increasing importance of internationalization in research and technological development in the direction of non-EU countries (so-called third countries), especially in the direction of the so-called BRICS countries (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa). This was also manifested in an increasing number of state-of-art RTD strategies. However, as RTD internationalization has been operationalized through concrete initiatives, programs and actions, the blatant lack of indicators to review the objectives of RTD internationalization has become evident.
The objective of this project was therefore explicitly to identify and analyse the quality and limitations of indicators for measuring internationalization in research and technological development.
The main result for the project was an indicator catalog that took into account the different RTD internationalization goals and described and discussed the potentials and limitations of the individual indicators.

Team:

Section: Research Policy & Development

No partners added yet

Tags: indicators, internationalisation, research and innovation policy

Type: Research

Submission Date: 11/2009

Project Status: Finished

Project Duration: 22 months

Start/End: 12/2009 - 09/2011

Print
Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

Indikatoren zur Messung der Internationalisierung von Wissenschaft und Forschung

Analyse und Bewertung von Internationalisierungsindikatoren

Ziel des Projekts war die Identifikation, Sammlung, Analyse und Bewertung von Indikatoren, die geeignet sind, die Internationalisierung von Forschung und technologischer Entwicklung darzustellen und zu messen. Dies erfolgte mit Hilfe eines national und international besetzten Workshops und eines analytischen Reports (Indikatorenkatalog), der die einzelnen Indikatoren vergleichend beschreibt und bewertet (Einsatzmöglichkeiten, Interpretation, Limitationen, Datenlage und Beispiele).

Hintergrund und Motivation für das Projekt war die im internationalen Vergleich deutlich wahrnehmbare steigende Bedeutung von Internationalisierung im Bereich Forschung und technologische Entwicklung in Richtung nicht-EU-Staaten (sog. Drittstaaten), insbesondere in Richtung der so genannten BRICS-Länder (Brasilien, Russland, Indien, China und Südafrika). Dies manifestiert sich auch in einer zunehmenden Zahl von state-of-art FTE-Strategien. Im gleichen Maße jedoch wie die FTE-Internationalisierung durch konkrete Initiativen, Programme und Maßnahmen operationalisiert wurde, wurde der eklatante Mangel an Indikatoren zur Überprüfung der mit der FTE-Internationalisierung zusammenhängenden Zielsetzungen evident.
Das gegenständliche Projekt widmete sich daher explizit der Identifikation und Analyse der Güte und Limitationen von Indikatoren zur Messung der Internationalisierung im Bereich Forschung und technologische Entwicklung.
Ouptut des Projekts war ein Indikatorenkatalog, der den unterschiedlichen FTE-Internationalisierungszielen Rechnung trug und die Potentiale und Beschränkungen der einzelnen Indikatoren beschrieb und diskutierte.

Mitarbeiter/innen:

Bereich: Forschungspolitik & Entwicklung

Noch keine Partner eingetragen

Tags: indicators, internationalisation, research and innovation policy

Typ: Forschung

Einreichdatum: 11/2009

Projekt Status: Abgeschlossen

Laufzeit: 22 Monate

Von/Bis: 12/2009 - 09/2011